Monday, February 28, 2011

Nevermore by Kelly Creagh

NevermoreRelease Date: August 24, 2010
Publisher: Scholastic Press
Age Group: Young Adult
Pages: 398
Source: Bought
Buy the BookAmazon

Synopsis:

Cheerleader Isobel Lanley is horrified when she is paired with Varen Nethers for an English project, which is due—so unfair—on the day of the rival game. Cold and aloof, sardonic and sharp-tongued, Varen makes it clear he’d rather not have anything to do with her either. But when Isobel discovers strange writing in his journal, she can’t help but give this enigmatic boy with the piercing eyes another look. Soon, Isobel finds herself making excuses to be with Varen. Steadily pulled away from her friends and her possessive boyfriend, Isobel ventures deeper and deeper into the dream world Varen has created through the pages of his notebook, a realm where the terrifying stories of Edgar Allan Poe come to life. As her world begins to unravel around her, Isobel discovers that dreams, like words, hold more power than she ever imagined, and that the most frightening realities are those of the mind. Now she must find a way to reach Varen before he is consumed by the shadows of his own nightmares. His life depends on it
Nevermore is a 2010 debut novel. It was unlike anything I've read in a long time. There are definitley parts in this book that mad me shiver. Of course that has to do with the fact Edgar Allen Poe's work has a big part in this book. Kelly Creagh is an obvious fan of Poe and works it nicely into the story with the writing that gave me chills.

Isobel appears to be the cliche cheerleader with the jock boyfriend and her "crew" but we learn that she's caring and Open minded. And what make this story so unique is not only the realtionship between Isobel and Varen but the realms of reality and dreams.

I was completely unaware that Nevermore will be a trilogy. By the last 15 pages I thought everything was going to be resolved. But I was left with a confusing ending and a dreadful cliffhanger. Now that I know there is a sequel, this doesn't bother me as much. The only complain I did have about the book was that it was slow at parts and at the climax of the story every happened too quickly.

Besides that, I'm dying to know what's going to happen to Varen and Isobel. Too bad I have to wait until 2012! How could they do this to me?

If you haven't read Nevermore and you enjoy lenghthy books go get a copy and start reading.

Sunday, February 27, 2011

In My Mailbox {5}




In My Mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by The Story Siren, where we all share what we got during the week!  

Library:
Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater 
The Body Finder by Kimberly Derting
Radiance by Alison Noel
Monster High by Lisi Harrison

What's in your mailbox?

Saturday, February 26, 2011

Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

Mockingjay (The Hunger Games, #3)Release Date: August 24, 2010
Publisher: Scholastic Press
Age Group: Young Adult
Pages: 398
Source: Bought
Buy the BookAmazon

Synopsis:
Young Katniss Everdeen has survived the dreaded Hunger Games not once, but twice, but even now she can find no relief. In fact, the dangers seem to be escalating: President Snow has declared an all-out war on Katniss, her family, her friends, and all the oppressed people of District 12. The thrill-packed final installment of Suzanne Collins' Hunger Games trilogy will keep young hearts pounding


I'm not sure how to react to this book. It was dark and tragic. I was definitley holding back tears by the end.

I was sad to see so many good characters die. Collins is most definitely not afraid to kill off important characters. Especially ones that I thought were important to ending the book. So much so that I was in shock when they did die.

Suzanne Collins was very brave in writing the ending to this book. She stuck to the way she believed the story should end and didn't sugar coat it even probably knowing that many would be enraged by it.

Mockingjay takes a difficult road, displaying the outcome of war and Katniss's journey to stay true to herself.  In my opinion, even the love triangle resolution was on point. It all happened the way it did because there was no other way it could.

Overall, the ending to the series was great, I was truly touched and even hurt in some ways (although not negatively). I recommend, to those who haven't read the series to start it when you can because you won't regret it.

Friday, February 25, 2011

Follow Friday & Book Blogger Hop {5}

Follow Friday is a weekly meme hosted by Parajunkee's View.

This week's question is:  "
Share your current fav television show! Tell us a bit about it..."

Ooo it's hard for me to just pick one, so I wont.
Right now I have three favorite shows:












On Monday night I watch Pretty Little Liars. I am obsessed with this show. I love the suspense and now Caleb *sigh*.

On Thursday I watch Vampire Diaries and Nikita. Last night's episodes were so awesome. But the cliffhangers were just mean. Back in April!?!? I think I'll go mad before then.





So what are your favorite t.v shows? 





Book Blogger Hop
The Book Blogger Hop is a weekly event hosted by Jennifer at Crazy for Books and runs from Friday to Sunday.

This week's question: "Do you ever wish you would have named your blog something different?"

Nope. Not at all.

--------------------------------------------------------
If you're a first time visitor, or just didn't get the chance to stop by this week, here's what you missed:

Features and Memes

In My Mailbox
A list of books I received this week.

Teaser Tuesday
I write a teaser from the book I am currently reading.

I share a book I am eager to read that had not been published yet.

Reviews
The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins
Crescendo by Becca Fitzpatrick

Wednesday, February 23, 2011

Waiting on" Wednesday {5}


Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

This week's pre-publication "can't-wait-to-read" selection is:




What Happened to Goodbye
What Happened to Goodbye by Sarah Dessen
Publisher: Penguin Young Readers Group
Release Date: May 10, 2011

Another town. Another school. Another Mclean. Ever since her parents' bitter divorce, Mclean and her father have been fleeing their unhappy past. And Mclean's become a pro at reinventing herself with each move. But in Lakeview, Mclean finds herself putting down roots and making friends—in part, thanks to Dave, the most real person Mclean's ever met. Dave just may be falling in love with her, but can he see the person she really is? Does Mclean herself know?





What are you waiting on? 


One Lovely Blog Award


I have been awarded the lovely blog award by Heather at the Breathing Books.  Thank you so much!


Upon receiving this award, here are some things you have to do:
  • Accept the award, post it on your blog together with the name of the person who has granted the award and his or her blog link.
  • Pass the award to 15 other blogs that you've newly discovered.
  • Remember to contact the bloggers to let them know they have been chosen for this award.

I will be passing this award along to :


Tuesday, February 22, 2011

Crescendo by Becca Fitzpatrick

Crescendo (Hush, Hush, #2)Release Date: October 19, 2010
PublisherSimon & Schuster Children's Publishing.
Age Group: Young Adult
Pages: 432
Source: Bought
Buy the BookAmazon

Synopsis:
Nora Grey's life is still far from perfect. Surviving an attempt on her life wasn't pleasant, but at least she got a guardian angel out of it: a mysterious, magnetic, gorgeous guardian angel. But, despite his role in her life, Patch has been acting anything but angelic. He's more elusive than ever and even worse, he's started spending time with Nora's arch-enemy, Marcie Millar. Nora would have hardly noticed Scott Parnell, an old family friend who has moved back to town, if Path hadn't been acting so distant. Even with Scott's totally infuriating attitude Nora finds herself drawn to him - despite her lingering feeling that he's hiding something. Haunted by images of her murdered father, and questioning whether her nephilim bloodline has anything to do with his death, Nora puts herself increasingly in dangerous situations as she desperatly searches for answers. But maybe some things are better left buried, because the truth could destroy everything - and everyone - she trusts.

Wow... wow, wow, wow... I cannot believe how frustratingly amazing this book is!! I've read quite a couple of mixed reviews on this book. But as for me, I just couldn't stop reading. There wasn't a moment where I didn't not want to know or care what happened next.

It's been a while since I've read Hush, Hush, and I remember it being just as good. 
Nora was the frustrating part of this book. She has to learn who to trust and who not to. Because this keep getting her in trouble. 

This book had non-stop action, with a full-blown mystery. So many secrets revealed, but at the same time so many questions left unanswered. And of course it ended on a cliffhanger. 

I can't wait until the next one but I'm so excited to see how everything turns out!


TT: Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

TEASERTUESDAY IS HOSTED BY SHOULD BE READING 
    • Grab your current read
    • Open to a random page
    • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
    • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
    • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

    Currently Reading
    • This week my teaser is for Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

    By dawn the bombers were long gone, fires dying, the final stragglers rounded up. My mother and Prim had set up a medical area for the injured and were attempting to treat them with whatever they could glean from the woods. "



Monday, February 21, 2011

Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins

Catching Fire (The Hunger Games, #2)
Release Date: October 1, 2008
Publisher: Scholastic, Inc.
Age Group: Young Adult
Pages: 374
Source
: Bought
Buy the Book
: Amazon

Synopsis:

Katniss Everdeen and Peeta Mellark won the annual competition described in Hunger Games, but the aftermath leaves these victors with no sense of triumph. Instead, they have become the poster boys for a rebellion that they never planned to lead. That new, unwanted status puts them in the bull's-eye for merciless revenge by The Capitol. Catching Fire maintains the adrenaline rush of Suzanne Collins's series launch
Couldn't. Put. It. Down. Wow, this book ends on such a cliff hanger. The suspense is killing me! Suzanne Collins has done a great job by keeping my on my toes with this one. I did not see any of this coming.


While book one was a little stronger, I like the direction the author takes with this. The plot was constructed in such a way that it would be near-impossible to predict. And despite its constant twisting and turning, we didn't lose track of Katniss or the people she loves.


We get to see more of Gale and the love triangle. When it comes to Gale/Katniss and Peeta/Katniss I have to say I'm Team Peeta. He's won me over from the beginning.  I really to see them end up together. 


I can't wait to get started on Mockingjay. I'm glad I don't have to wait a whole year to read it. I don't how people survived with the suspense.




Sunday, February 20, 2011

In My Mailbox {4}



In My Mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by The Story Siren, where we all share what we got during the week! 


From the library:
Nevermore
Nevermore by Kelly Creagh
Cold and aloof, sardonic and sharp-tongued, Varen makes it clear he’d rather not have anything to do with her either. But when Isobel discovers strange writing in his journal, she can’t help but give this enigmatic boy with the piercing eyes another look. More



Hex Hall by Rachel Hawkins 
Hex Hall (Hex Hall, #1)Three years ago, Sophie Mercer discovered that she was a witch. It's gotten her into a few scrapes. Her non-gifted mother has been as supportive as possible, consulting Sophie's estranged father--an elusive European warlock--only when necessary. But when Sophie attracts too much human attention for a prom-night spell gone horribly wrong, it's her dad who decides her punishment: exile to Hex Hall, an isolated reform school for wayward Prodigium, a.k.a. witches, faeries, and shapeshifters. More



Bought:
Catching Fire (The Hunger Games, #2)
 Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins
Katniss Everdeen and Peeta Mellark won the annual competition described in Hunger Games, but the aftermath leaves these victors with no sense of triumph. Instead, they have become the poster boys for a rebellion that they never planned to lead. That new, unwanted status puts them in the bull's-eye for merciless revenge by The Capitol. Catching Fire maintains the adrenaline rush of Suzanne Collins's series launch


That's all I got this week. What;s in your mailbox




Saturday, February 19, 2011

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

The Hunger Games (The Hunger Games, #1)
Release Date: October 1, 2008
Publisher: Scholastic, Inc.
Age Group: Young Adult
Pages: 374
Source
: Bought
Buy the Book
: Amazon
Synopsis:
Could you survive on your own, in the wild, with everyone out to make sure you don't live to see the morning? 
In the ruins of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve outlying districts. The Capitol is harsh and cruel and keeps the districts in line by forcing them all to send one boy and one girl between the ages of twelve and eighteen to participate in the annual Hunger Games, a fight to the death on live TV. 
Sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen, who lives alone with her mother and younger sister, regards it as a death sentence when she steps forward to take her sister's place in the Games. But Katniss has been close to dead before—and survival, for her, is second nature. Without really meaning to, she becomes a contender. But if she is to win, she will have to start making choices that will weigh survival against humanity and life against love.

I cannot believe I have waited this long to read this book! I am absolutely obsessed. I can't wait to start the next one. Actually right after this I am starting Catching Fire. Every chapter in this book ended with a sentence that makes you keep reading. And if I wasn't reading the book, I kept thinking about Katniss and when I could sneak in a couple more chapters during class. I can definitely see what all the hype is about.

The romance in this book definitley won me over (not surprising, I'm a sucker for romance). My heart goes out to Peeta and I'm hoping things get better for him and Katniss in the next book.

This trilogy is totally addictive and I'm going to wrap this up so I can go get my hands on the next book.

If you still haven't read this trilogy, I recommend you get to it as soon as possible

Friday, February 18, 2011

Follow Friday & Book Blogger Hop {4}

Follow Friday is a weekly meme hosted by Parajunkee's View.

This week's question is:  If you are a fan of Science Fiction what is your favorite book? If you haven't read Science Fiction before...any inkling to? Anything catch your eye?

As far as science fiction goes, I've only read one and that was XVI by Julia Karr. And I did indeed enjoy it.

Are you a fan of science fiction?




Book Blogger Hop
The Book Blogger Hop is a weekly event hosted by Jennifer at Crazy for Books and runs from Friday to Sunday.

This week's question: "What book(s) would you like to see turned into a movie?"

I definitley can't wait to see Vampire Academy being turned into a movie and The Hunger Games will  be great to see on film as well.




How about you? What books would you like to see turned into a movie?
If you're a first time visitor, or just didn't get the chance to stop by this week, here's what you missed:
Features and Memes

In My Mailbox
A list of books I received this week.

Teaser Tuesday
I write a teaser from the book I am currently reading.

I share a book I am eager to read that had not been published yet.

Reviews
Swoon by Nina Malkin
The Candidates by Inara Scott

Thursday, February 17, 2011

Swoon by Nina Malkin



Release Date: May 4, 2010
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Age Group: Young Adult
Pages: 432
Source
: Bought
Buy the Book
: Amazon
Synopsis:
Torn from her native New York City and dumped in the land of cookie-cutter preps, Candice is resigned to accept her posh, dull fate. Nothing ever happens in Swoon, Connecticut...until Dice's perfect, privileged cousin Penelope nearly dies in a fall from an old tree, and her spirit intertwines with that of a ghost. His name? Sinclair Youngblood Powers. His mission? Revenge. And while Pen is oblivious to the possession, Dice is all too aware of Sin. She's intensely drawn to him -- but not at all crazy about the havoc he's wreaking. Determined to exorcise the demon, Dice accidentally sets Sin loose, gives him flesh, makes him formidable. Now she must destroy an even more potent -- and irresistible -- adversary, before the whole town succumbs to Sin's will. Only trouble is, she's in love with him.What do you do when the boy of your dreams is too bad to be true?

There are a lot of conflicting reviews I have read about this book. I could agree with the fact that the book was slow in some parts but the characters were so well developed, I was able to overlook it with no problem



 Swoon was a dark, and edgy read. I really enjoyed Malkin's style of writing and I found my self  eagerly turning the pages and anticipating Dice's next move. She was an interesting characters to read about. I felt so in tune with her thought and opinions. I understood why she was so conflicted in her feelings, especially when it came to Sin. Hmm....Sin is that guy you just can't hate even when you know you should. He's witty and ruthless. Not to mention gorgeous. It was easy to see why Dice would fall for him.


In truth, Swoon is not a book everyone will love, but I enjoyed it and I'm looking foward to its sequel, Swear.

Wednesday, February 16, 2011

Waiting on" Wednesday {4}




Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

This week's pre-publication "can't-wait-to-read" selection is:



Ingenue (Flappers, #2)


Ingenue by Jillian Larkin
Publisher: Delacorte Books for Young Readers
Release Date: August 9, 2011

Bobbed hair. Short skirts. Cool jazz. Dark speakeasy. Anything goes. Meet the flappers, Gloria, Clara, Lorraine . . . and the rich young boys who love and loathe them.




What are you waiting on? 

Tuesday, February 15, 2011

Cover Revealed and Teaser Tuesday!



The EVERLASTING cover is revealed!!!


In stores 06.07.11!

The sixth and final installment of the epic love story that has enchanted readers across the world. Ever and Damen have spent centuries facing down bitter rivals, jealous friends and their own worst fears-all in the hope of being together forever. Now in Everlasting, their destiny is finally within reach.

Will they be united-or torn apart forever?
Readers will finally discover the truth in this anxiously awaited conclusion! 






I love the color, my guess is that its Ever and Damen on cover. I can't wait for this book to come out, the cover has intrigued my interest even more to final book in the Immortal series.

TEASERTUESDAY IS HOSTED BY SHOULD BE READING

    • Grab your current read
    • Open to a random page
    • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
    • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
    • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

    • This week my teaser is for Kiss in the Dark by Lauren Henderson

    "I can't breathe. I can't breathe. I'm seeing dots before my eyes and my vision's blurry. I think I'm going throw up or pass out or both."



Monday, February 14, 2011

A Touch Mortal Excerpt


Happy Valentine's Day everybody!!


I won't be doing anything special today but I hope my friends will love the presents I made them.


How will you celebrate this day dedicated to love and friendship?


And here's a great treat:
 You can read the first 80 pages of A Touch Mortal by Leah Clifford HERE.

A Touch Mortal




Eden didn't expect Az.
Not his saunter down the beach toward her. Not his unbelievable pick-up line. Not the instant, undeniable connection. And not his wings.Yeah.So long, happily-ever-after.Now trapped between life and death, cursed to spread chaos with her every touch, Eden could be the key in the eternal struggle between heaven and hell. All because she gave her heart to one of the Fallen, an angel cast out of heaven. She may lose everything she ever had. She may be betrayed by those she loves most. But Eden will not be a pawn in anyone else's game. Her heart is her own. And that's only the beginning of the end.


Sunday, February 13, 2011

In My Mailbox {3}



In My Mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by The Story Siren, where we all share what we got during the
week!

 This week I borrowed a book from my friend: 
  

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins


The Hunger Games (The Hunger Games, #1) 

Could you survive on your own, in the wild, with everyone out to make sure you don't live to see the morning? In the ruins of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve outlying districts. The Capitol is harsh and cruel and keeps the districts in line by forcing them all to send one boy and one girl between the ages of twelve and eighteen to participate in the annual Hunger Games, a fight to the death on live TV. More
 I've heard many good things about this trilogy and I hope I'll enjoy it as much as the rest of its fans have.

Well that's all I got this week,

What's in your mailbox?


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...